Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

New York Story Night 16

Truth or Dare?

The night before the dance, in the court of the queen bee…

Hannah’s mom peeks in the room at us. The ice in her wine glass clinks, and she slurps a sip from the sweating glass.

I fake gag and say vodka tastes like nail polish remover.

She says, “If you always choose truth you’re boring.”

And Hannah’s full-on melting down.

Her reflection tries not to smile.

Simple, smart moment-to-moment writing from Sunshine. Thank you!

A new focus:

In 2009 the film made from my book Choke got a slot at the Sundance Film Festival. Some 17,000 films applied for the 32 available slots, and we got one. Of those 32 lucky films only two found distributors; of those, one was Choke. It sold to Fox. At the time my agent said, “Sundance is an excellent shop window.” A wonderful Brit phrase for a place to be showcased and seen.

Beginning today, I’d like these videos to serve as shop windows. If you’ve got links to your books, or your site, or other projects, please send them to me via The Cult. It can be tough to get eyeballs on your work, so my hope has always been to connect writers to the world. If you’d like to write a short bio that I can cut and paste next to the video, write it, send it. For an excellent example, check out the bio and links I’ve just added to Erin Potter’s last video, here.

Maybe some agent who is building her list will see you here. Maybe the intern at a publishing house will see you and suggest you to the next higher-up.

As always, if you ever want me to take down your video, please let me know via The Cult, and I will do so quickly.

Nothing ventured, nothing gained. Here’s to taking the next step.

Chuck Palahniuk's Plot Spoiler is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Chuck Palahniuk's Plot Spoiler
Chuck Palahniuk's Plot Spoiler
Authors
Chuck Palahniuk