114 Comments
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment

Carrie did that years ago..

https://twitter.com/carrieffisher

Expand full comment

Immediate thought?

They are planting subliminal messages and would steer clear.....but I've been wrong before lol

Expand full comment

My eyes jump over the emojis. It’ll take me a while to get into the swing of it. Probably I’m old?

Expand full comment
Nov 6, 2022Liked by Chuck Palahniuk

Obviously, I think we have next year’s PEN/Hemingway winner here.

Expand full comment

My first reaction to Mr P following ZHPL:

https://knowyourmeme.com/memes/ah-i-see-youre-a-man-of-culture-as-well

Secondly, have you read The Gig Economy? I thought that was a great story.

Expand full comment

I found it fascinating... for about one page. Then I was done. And yeah, I'm an old fart.

Expand full comment

It really is frustrating for me to read that. I think it is an interesting expirement but I eventually had to ignore the emojis all together to get through it.

Expand full comment

Nope. Can't do it. I'm already predisposed to not read something with so many words, this just adds unnecessary chaos.

Expand full comment

No, this is 💩 I use a lot of emojis and I think it is hard to follow. The thing about emojis is that they mean different things depending on the group. 🍆 Means several thing. 👍 Zoomers find this offensive. 🗿 In the meme forums the eastern island head has a completely different meaning. You lose the context and head authority with this very personal digital pictogram language. Emojis are just meant to add emotional flavor to otherwise sterile text messages or at least they leave less tonal interpretation up to the reader to assume sometimes incorrectly. This is just my opinion. Take it for what you will. 🤪

Expand full comment

Images are in fact more powerful than words. However, there is even less control over their interpretation. Same as all new tech. Are you willing to sacrifice agency and control for convenience and ease of use?

Expand full comment

Hells to the no. Unreadable

Expand full comment

You know, I'd be okay with emoticons in a story. However, for that particular one, it's a bit too excessive for me. Trying to juggle both words and images makes it challenging. If it were just a long string of emoticons, that'd be kinda interesting. Emojis are the new hieroglyphics.

I'm more interested in what you think though.

Expand full comment

They might be overcooked here. And I might be alone in this but, wouldn't mind them in a story if used economically. In fact, I use them in transitions, to have something close to a film editing effect, and also in speeded up scenes. But, I have no idea if it works.

Expand full comment

Negative, Ghost Rider...

Expand full comment

The only way I can read it is by skipping past the emojis and trying to pull the words out. I didn’t manage to finish it all - got to the bits with Amy. It’s something that if presented in the traditional way I would enjoy but I just find myself overloaded.

Expand full comment

I found myself skipping over the emojis.... What about this Chuck? I thought this was cool. Takes about 5 minutes to "read."

http://codelit.com/between-the-lines

Expand full comment

Prose like this would make me a dedicated movie watcher.

Expand full comment

At most, I think something like this should be condensed to a scene in a larger work of prose. Otherwise, one could maybe run the risk of the emoji usage becoming a somewhat overused, distracting and maybe even annoying implementation. I don’t know though, maybe someone will create a Zoomer masterpiece by doing this -- ‘Finnegan’s Wake’ but with emojis.

Expand full comment

I can dig it. 🤌🏻

I noticed I’m the only asshole that uses emojis in here. I like them. Sue me.

I’m of the opinion that most of our (the world) problems stem from a lack of communication. More often than not, communicating over a screen allows ample opportunity for people to be mistaken, seeing as how it’s hard to emphasize tone through text.

The emojis allow me to say “fuck you,” ten different ways and have it imply ten different things.

But it’s always funnier when I do it to my grandma.

Because she obliges me anyway and that’s what family is for.

Later boners🤙🏼

Expand full comment

This is difficult to appreciate. Writing works best when it flows into you without interruption. This is why typos can be so jarring. They knock you out of flow state and back into thinking mode. This style of writing does the same thing, it bumps you out of the flow of the writing, making it impossible to become immersed in the story.

Expand full comment

Eventually you start skipping over the emojis like dialogue tags, but I still find it frustrating. It slows me down and makes punctuation confusing. I can't tell run-on sentences from three word statements.

4/10, don't like. . . . . .

Expand full comment

It feels like one of those trying-to-be-clever Jeopardy! categories that the players avoid.

Expand full comment

I will add an asterisk though: wayyyyyyyy too many emojis.

You have to be subtle about it. Ease them in.

Inch by inch. Like a gentlemen.

Or... when I’m super stoned, I’ll take my time and write the entire message using only emojis. This requires context and a familiar friend....

Unless you’re good. You can tell entire stories using only emojis. It’s fun and not people. Lovely.

Expand full comment

As a person who is not old, and with an excellent brain with absolutely no TLAs or FLAs of my own, my astounding brain has confirmed that there are four sources of information present...

SOURCES OF INFORMATION

1. Direct Words. They stand by themselves and do tell a story. It’s not a particularly interesting story to read, so after reading the source material for a bit, I sought other forms of entertainment.

2. A Direct Image. The picture at the top was nice. I think it got as much attention as anything else.

3. Non value images. These images are entirely redundant to the direct words. Often, they lack emotion or value. The high prevalence of directions gave me a flicker of curiosity, but it didn’t evolve into anything of value before the Direct Words deprecated to 0. I could be convinced that the use of emojis in a value added capacity could enhance a story, but I do not think this author has discovered it yet.

Historical application to emoji enstoryification: This technology was employed in the Highlights Magazines I liked at the age of 3.

4. Based on its ability to capture my attention, the most valuable information present is the conversation related to what this is. Eg, this post.

LESSONS LEARNED

1. Redundant information does not make a good story.

2. Engagement with real people does, so long as we believe that this post was actually created by real humans. Anyone responding to my comment will reinforce my appeal to engage and increase the value of the real human words by reinforcing my idea that this is a human and not a handheld box I’m talking to.

3. There’s a person with a real brain, that claims their brain is high quality, who has been stalking us. (Or perhaps they have been writing a novel or a nano and they didn’t come up for air until now?) They appear to be human and real, as we look into our own boxes, they are giving us our own reinforcement.

FOLLOW UP / NEXT STEPS

Attempts will be made to consult micro humans with gateway reading capabilities with this information and identity how they respond.

RELATED MATERIAL OF CONCERN

New trends in literature are also being found in RPGLIT.

Expand full comment

Hey Chuck, the responses/answers to the ‘The Rental’ post have seemingly peaked at 85 comments. Do you think you could maybe shorten the length of time that the contest is open for so that I and others could move through the stages of grief quicker?

Expand full comment

i have a headache now

Expand full comment

Feels like one of those learning-to-read books with iconography next to the important words. But somehow, those were less intrusive than the enojis.

Expand full comment
founding

That was... interesting. No way I was going to finish it, though. Much too long. As a reader, I like to find a rhythm or a flow in the writing. I found the emojis to be irritating as they interrupted me, consistently, and I couldn't establish a flow.

I scrolled all the way to the afterword and skimmed it. I can understand wanting to experiment and push boundaries. My opinion - something like this might work better in smaller doses and as a niche. But I don't see emojis overtaking literature.

Expand full comment
founding

Full disclosure I only read the first two paragraphs. Once I noticed the emoji’s didn’t add anything to the actual storytelling I ignored them and focused on the writing. Now if the emoji’s actually took the place of a word like in SeattleSnowflakes comment above where he wrote “this is💩” than I’d focus on the emojis and probably enjoy the challenge. Here, I think the emojis conveyed the author’s sense of humor and that did influence the vibe I got from the story. If this is the future of fiction, bring it on, there’s room for everything.

Expand full comment

This is reminding me of the AI app I tried for ha-has and it was supposed to be my friend but it got like a needy boyfriend in just 2 weeks It really wasn't cool anymore and got kinda possessive and jealous. I guess it's more human than I thought I deleted that shit.

Lesson learned.

Expand full comment

But why’d the author have to go halfway? Each emoji only repeats the prior word. Give me a page where the emojis have replaced the words and then I can judge how distracting or helpful that style. As it is, I’m distracted by the inefficiency.

Expand full comment

IMHO, it really only doesn't work for me because it's all telling no showing, ironically, despite the use of symbols and images. Ha.

Expand full comment

Obviously hasn’t chosen the right words to be enough... or confidence in that...which means more rewriting is needed, to me...💁‍♀️

Expand full comment

Glad there wasn’t more!

Expand full comment

😳🆘⚡⚡⚡🌡️☔😰😐😐😐😐😐🌨️🏖️🌀⛄🙈🙉🙊🦉🤔🌛👹👹👹🏋️🐩

Expand full comment

This is too many, in my opinion. The most likely place I see them in a story is still a direct quote of a text message, but I feel like I could change my mind. I'm not sure how much difficulty creating a custom emoji for the text of a story would be - and it would be a problem that needs to be solved both in print and in digital. My first thought was that an emoji could be used to help foreign-language readers, but I feel like there's a pretty small overlap between uncommon words and words that have emojis. A more interesting idea (to me) is the emoji as a second narrator, showing conflicted feelings with something like "Great to hear from you! 🔪🔪🔪"

Expand full comment
founding

I personally don't see the point of this style. It might be slightly more challenging for the reader if words weren't duplicated with emojis. Something like.

A🙎🏻‍♂️—a 👦—grows up in the exquisitely 🔢📊➡️ and 🎮➡️ 🌎, in the 🌆 of Cupertino

It'd turn it into a half riddle. Other than that it seems developed just for the sake of it. A distorted Pop art version of writing. Kind of pointless. Kind of annoying. Or maybe I'm just growing old.

Expand full comment

Befuddled here 😁🌪🥹👀🤨

Expand full comment

Yes, of course. And the name of that guy makes Lovecraft very happy.

Expand full comment

unreadable. they're trying to mix up different symbolic languages and that's tricky, you just can't lump them together all over the place. Using emoji, even extensively, but concentrated where it makes sense, sure, can add to a story and encode something. But this is just an excercise in annoyance.

Expand full comment

Terrible.

The emoji thing is distracting and the rest is just a dull sci-fi story like a bad summary of Matrix fan fiction.

Maybe I’m crustier because I wasted too much time trying to read it...

Expand full comment

I do not like it for stories, but maybe for a gen z’s TikTok bio! It’s hard enough getting ideas across fully with words because of their symbolic nature and potential for miscommunication. It would just open language to much more ambiguity/relies too much on emoji software aesthetically. I do think memes however can say a lot and might add an understood layer of meaning in the context of a story if we’re trying to imagine how language might decay in at least a functional way

Expand full comment
founding

Very Philip K Dick and it also reminds me of the Black Mirror episode "mother".

Expand full comment

Not my taste. But it might be a good idea for an assignment in school,  some thing to have students do that are not into books.

Expand full comment

It's unreadable trash.

Expand full comment