73 Comments
Apr 17, 2023Liked by Chuck Palahniuk

Maybe they should call it the "grating" sidebar, given its likelihood of annoying just about everyone. I hope there's a way to turn it off. ;)

Expand full comment

Gramnerly would not be your friend. 🤣😂

Expand full comment

Gosh, I love that term, "reinvent language".

Expand full comment

WPS is your friend. I havent used it much, because I use Google Docs, but tech companies are conquistadors of the useless who design applications for people who hate having agency.

Google Docs capitalizes and changes words automatically and it is infuriating. Just let me type what I want to type. I am unpredictable text.

When did everyone decide that having zero control over the things that they do was cool with them?

Expand full comment
founding

That does sound annoying. Can it be disabled?

Expand full comment
Apr 17, 2023·edited Apr 17, 2023

Dude, just use Word's “Focus” mode. When keyboarding, I can’t stand to look at anything on the screen other than my own gibberish.

Expand full comment

I wasn’t there for Clippy, but I understand it and agree this is like a Clippy Twitter social justice warrior. I’ve been told my word usage is “offensive” for fiction story dialogue. These recent updates are incredibly frustrating when writing poetry as well.

Expand full comment

Nah, not ready to bail. I just roll with it. I am used to someone or something pointing out what I am doing wrong. I try to learn from it while not taking it personally; it is a program and therefore doesn't always recognize creative geniuses like us!

Expand full comment

Like most things in Microsoft office, I suspect it can learn. I just teach it what I like and dislike or turn the feature off completely.

Expand full comment

Maybe I'm the odd one out here, but I'm a big fan of writing with Scrivener.

Expand full comment

Honestly I think someone like you Chuck would try to see how low of a score they could get while still having a great finished product.

Expand full comment

Couldn’t this work in your favour? Like seeing the prompt just reminds you that you’re making a conscious effort to burn the language -- which is as intended.

Expand full comment

Where's the Review > Burn Language option.

FWIW, I use free OpenOffice, started by Sun Microsystems but now maintained by Apache.

Expand full comment

I tell it to shut up when text is between “quotation marks cause nimrodAI” or turn it off altogether.

Expand full comment

Is it still possible to turn off the grammar checker? I've been working in Scrivener only for a long time.

Expand full comment

I don't think I can count the number of times Chuck has clicked the "ignore suggestion" under a correction lol

Expand full comment

This is the evolution of Clippy but like in Idiocracy. I love Scrivener but it took a minute to get used to.

Expand full comment

Why even use Word to being with. Yeah I prefer Open Source, and sometimes I use Dark Room (look it up) for distraction free writing

Expand full comment

Watching Misery as I cook tea and I'd love to see an Annie Wilkes proofreading prompt that shouts, 'You dirtybird!'

Expand full comment

As a managing editor in children's book publishing by day, I am not a fan of this for a number of reasons.

Expand full comment

Is there no way to shut that stupid garbage off? Who invented that?

Expand full comment

Word is the opposite of open source.

Expand full comment
founding

I use an app called Ulysses. It's a distraction free environment.

https://ulysses.app/

APple devices only at this time

Bill Skates

Expand full comment

I've been writing in Scrivener for YEEAARS.

Expand full comment

Ulysses is my writing app. A power house in simplicity.

Expand full comment

personally, I use manuskript! keeps my stuff organized, it's open source, free, and looks good to me. I'd suggest backing it up every so often, but otherwise I've never had a problem.

Expand full comment
founding

UPS just arrived. You’re awesome, Chuck! I was smart and opened this one outside. Never gonna rid my house of last year’s iridescent tinsel. Might be a selling point, though. “That’s Chuck Palahniuk’s arts & crafts herpes shimmering beneath the baseboards, tangled in the carpets, and whistling in the vents!” But seriously, thank you!

Expand full comment

I loved that paperclip.

Expand full comment

We might be able to abandon writing altogether. This is scary.

https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chat-with-ask-ai/id1668787639

Expand full comment

I've been using Google Docs for about a decade, and I've only used Pages a few times to see if there were any new features worth switching for.

I haven't lost a single word while typing in the last decade, although I think that's less of a problem these days with Word. However, I cannot confirm this as I don't use it.

Google Docs (now Google Drive) does have an offline version that works across devices, so you can keep notes on your writing on the go, even on your phone. I use this quite often when I have sudden ideas and want to add them to the outline of my book to check later when it's time to write.

I have multiple books in various stages of completion, with partially fleshed-out outlines waiting to be written. Most of the notes were added when I was out and about, away from my computer, and had an idea that I might not remember later if I didn't capture it in the moment.

Getting feedback on your reading is quite easy too by sharing your doc with someone in commenter mode only or you can let them suggest edits, sort of like when a teacher crosses out a sentence but then includes the new sentence in its place. I assume word has that too, but google docs was the original real time multi-person document editing platform and there are few that come close to it from my experience. Suggesting mode is pretty cool when working with multiple people.

Expand full comment

I jumped into a Grammarly-esque program for more cash than I'd like to admit. Like lots of other things I put stock in, I calmly awaited salvation that it kinda-sorta promised. My wife looked at some sample work, then looked at me, then frowned a little. That's how I felt in my heart.

I think the "do this, it's better" apps may accidentally, or purposefully, be the devil?

Expand full comment

I use scrivener with the edits turned off. Damn those squiggle marks.

Expand full comment

I hate those tools. I'm using the word Hate here. I go into the bowels of user preferences and close it immediately. As with any auto-correct or spellcheck. When I'm typing and a squiggly appears, I can't quite ignore it. But if I go back and "fix" it, often I lose that bit of ethereal momentum.

Here, I will advocate for the devil known as Clippy (and its ilk). I volunteer as an Adult Basic Education and ESL teacher, and those tools I hate for creative flow are wonderful for learners. If you never spent time on spelling / typing / grammar and now the economy has changed so that entry level jobs require a keyboard interface, those tools are a great asset. To create a fresh hell for myself I enrolled in a Coding Bootcamp, and the code editor VS Code has a very similar function which I rely on heavily.

So in the art of writing, such tools are like putting a cast on our third eye. In the modern Lord of the Flies that is middle-class survivalism, it is an asset.

Expand full comment
founding

Time for some Libre Office on the old Linux OS?

Expand full comment

My friend Cathy ois known for malapropism/ which we entitled Catharsisisicm

Expand full comment