413 Comments
Comment deleted
Expand full comment

Dean Koontz.

Expand full comment

George RR Martin

Expand full comment

James Patterson- if he isn’t a damn robot by now lol.

Expand full comment

Just Wikipediad Alice Munro, I'm going with her:

"At a Toronto appearance in October 2009, Munro indicated that she had received treatment for cancer and for a heart condition requiring coronary-artery bypass surgery.[38] "

Expand full comment

Chuck Palahniuk!! Yes. The boy dared give the man his own name.

Expand full comment

Danielle Steele

Expand full comment
founding

R.L. Stine comes to mind.

Chuck, don't you fucking dare think about you winning this contest. :|

Expand full comment
founding

Noam Chompsky is unfortunately getting up there in age. I hope I am wrong in this game.

Expand full comment

Cormac McCarthy

Expand full comment

Joan Didion seems to fit the trend . . .

Expand full comment

J. K Rowling *shrugs*

Expand full comment

George R. R. Martin

Then Brandon Sanderson jumps in to finish

Expand full comment
Dec 17, 2021·edited Dec 17, 2021

Alice A. Munro, not hoping.

Expand full comment

J. M. Coetzee

Expand full comment

Margaret Atwood.

Expand full comment

I just love you.......so much. I think you are my twin from a different uterus lmao...I can't and won't because I know who I'd pick and you probably can guess but I can't ever speak that into existence. Just as long as it's not me, or my will is now going say Chuck has to finish my book as MY ghost writer ..............

Expand full comment
founding

I do not want it to be—my favorite book of all time is The Thief of Always—but isn’t Clive Barker having health issues?

Expand full comment

Thomas Pynchon ?

Expand full comment
founding

Stephen King? I feel dirty just thinking it. It's your assignment though.

Expand full comment

Richard Dawkins

Expand full comment
founding

Stephen King. I don't want to be correct but I had such a strange dream about it a few days ago I feel I had to throw his name into the pool. But you are seriously not allowed to win this contest, I expressly forbid it! (I would be so lost... I'm enjoying the hell out of these posts, writing again finally, and Greener Pastures during this particularly trying time. Every time I check my email and see your name there I get to crawl up out of the depression hole just a bit. Thank you for that.)

Expand full comment

Can I pick Margaret Mitchell actually.......

Expand full comment

James Patterson (I hope)

Expand full comment

Or Bentley Little

Expand full comment
founding
Dec 17, 2021·edited Dec 17, 2021

Apparently there's a tiktok thing telling (/warning?) kids to make tomorrow 'national do violence at school day' and I work in a school...I don't want to tempt fate here so my guess can be Billy Collins. If I'm lucky I'll be wrong about both things

Expand full comment

Clive Barker, hope I lose.

Expand full comment

Don DeLillo or Gordon Lish :-/

Expand full comment

Stephen King

Expand full comment

Delillo

Expand full comment

John Barth

Expand full comment

Ooh me me me pick me

Expand full comment

Oh god, I don't wanna win this bet haha

How about Joyce Carol Oates? Do you remember that picture she took of her foot after it came in contact with poison oak or poison ivy? https://www.self.com/story/joyce-carol-oates-foot-hiking-in-sandals

I think she made a rash decision.

Expand full comment

Kenneth Anger, he’s a nonagenarian and this type of deal kind of deserves his presence.

Expand full comment
founding

Roger Angell. I need to win.

Expand full comment
founding

Geneviève Callerot

Expand full comment

This is a fucked up contest. But put me down for Jimmy Carter.

Expand full comment

Alice Walker

Expand full comment

Have you ever noticed that when an author dies...all their books go back on the bestsellers list?

Expand full comment

It could possibly be me. As Karie-Anne Vincable as I am I just got a job offer to ride around Manhattan on an Ebike. And I'm seriously considering it cuz it will move me near my brother...........I can't think of a cooler way to go actually. What would be my prize if I take one for the team via Ebike,?????

Expand full comment
founding

George Takei and William Shatner

Expand full comment

Michael Moorcock. Which would be sad and also quite traumatic for newsreaders.

Expand full comment
author

Okay, if we're going to include poets we must consider the sad possibility of Edna O'Brien.

Expand full comment

Dean Koontz!

Expand full comment