95 Comments

This reminds me of the somewhat recent meme "Gonna Tell My Kids."

https://knowyourmeme.com/memes/gonna-tell-my-kids

Expand full comment

Two kids, six nieces and nephews, now 3 great nephews in Im sure I’ll be confronted on a number of things.

Number one being, “your butt does not in fact fall off when you unscrew you’re belly button.”

Sometimes I’d even get the electric drill and chase them around screaming.

Expand full comment

I'm adopting this. 😆

Expand full comment
author

Tomorrow, I promise a real posting. About writing and everything.

Expand full comment

I heard my coworker tell someone half his age that “a burning man will take place on Mars this year.” I keep spreading the same info and no kid disbelieves it.

Expand full comment

The trade-off between this and excruciating back pain? Maybe it's not so bad getting old.

Expand full comment

I once convinced a youngster that Joe the Camel was real and was planning a presidential election bid. The kid said, "I wish I could vote!"

Expand full comment
founding

Hahahaha! Good one.

One of my Uncle’s and his girlfriend fully had me believing she was a mermaid. Told me how he found her in Florida and brought her back to Ohio. Promised if I put salt in my bathtub, I’d turn into one. Well, I’m shaped like one for sure, that part worked.

Also, was told gypsies would steal me one day. I became the gypsy/carny.

Expand full comment

Did you know Ted Cruz is actually the Zodiac Killer?

Expand full comment

I've never done this but I had a coworker tell me Allister crawley was the father of Barbara Bush. I believed it until I Googled it and among other things found out he was crazy. Once told a group of us that he knew someone that went to the Dominican republic, fell a sleep and got his kidneys stolen. Not making any of this up.

Expand full comment

Jack Ruby had to shoot Oswald with a ruby bullet because he was a werewolf.

Expand full comment

Years ago I had some ditzy millennial coworkers who were only around five years younger than me but I used to make shit up and see if they'd believe it. If only I could remember some of it...

Expand full comment
founding

What about the child that doesn't believe you - even when you're being honest? 🤣

Expand full comment

This was the Iranian national anthem before the extremists took over. https://youtu.be/iIpfWORQWhU

Expand full comment

Not quite the same since it was my daughter and she was three, but it’s my favorite parenting lie to date: when she said she saw ghosts in the hallway, I told her ghosts hated fresh smells like minty breath and also since they were so lightweight you could blow them away. So, for the next month or so, she would walk down our hallway, huffing and puffing and waving her hand, and then would ask if she could brush her teeth again

Expand full comment
Jul 4, 2022Liked by Chuck Palahniuk

Not quite a lie but reminds me of a similar story. When I was little my father use to tell me that John F. Kennedy ruined his 10th birthday. For years as a child I couldn’t think of what JFK could’ve done to ruin my dad’s birthday. Was he there? How did my dad know JFK? Well my dad’s birthday is November 22nd. When I finally figured out what he was talking about he confirmed, “yeah, everyone got sent home from school and no one showed up to my party.”

Expand full comment

I need this in my life. I wanna tell young people that Bill Clinton authorized the first moon landing.

Expand full comment

One of my favorite is when my 3 kids were all in elementary school, me and their mom would set the clock ahead like an hour and be like,

“Weeeelp I guess it’s bedtime. It’s what the clock says”

They’d be all crying about how it’s still light out and I’d just point out the irrefutable evidence of a clock.

Expand full comment

I was wearing a military cap at a block party and a tweener asked me if I ever saw combat, I told him I was wounded during the Bay of Pigs and had to have a steel plate in my head. He said that sucks and I told him the worst part is that I can’t use a cellphone because the metal interferes with the signal but I get free satellite radio.

Expand full comment

I told a young'n on Facebook that The Goonies, Stand By Me and The Lost Boys was a classic trilogy from the '80s.

His response: "NO WAY!"

Not sure if he bought it.

Expand full comment

Did you know that ‘War of the ‘Worlds’ is based on a true story? They even broadcasted the invasion live on radio as it was happening.

Expand full comment

For sure, it's classic and spanking. Met Van Morrison while waitressing in a Woodstock NY cafe. He was withdrawn & sullen, but, after eating, brightened ♡ left nice tip after all my fumbled awe ♡

Expand full comment

I stopped an Easter once for my daughter when she was 7. The Easter bunny had been kidnapped by a demonic force given shape in the form of the ink demon Bendy. She had to find 6 ink covered Easter eggs around the house to unlock the prison. The final egg was hidden in the bathroom. It was there that I locked the door while I put on a costume of Sammy Lawrence. When she finally popped the lock she had to wrestle the egg from my now inky form. She saved easter and everything went back to normal. Sad thing is scared alot of her classmates with her stories. I think they eventually got over it because she has a lot of friends. So is it better to lie to your children and tell them monsters are not real or to prepare them to battle their demons however they exist? I feel like my daughter is more creative due to my antics. I hope she is able to keep it intact along with her imagination as she gets older. I lie to lots of people when I write my fiction.

Expand full comment

I once convinced someone Spontaneous Dental Hydroplosion was a thing, so there's that. But I can't keep a straight face for long, I'm a bit Lincoln like that.

Expand full comment

My dad’s wedding ring is made of a few different rings from our family history melted down and recast with a stone in the middle. This is true.

What isn’t true is that for some reason I was led to believe as a child it was made from the gold foil that used to come lining the inside of cigarette packets. I thought this was true for YEARS.

Expand full comment

I remember doing a kinda similar exercise as a kid but, not since. I'm an only child, so I played alone most of the time, with figure toys. I'd make stories up using those figures. When at school the next day, I'd use those stories I made up, reshape them as a movie I've seen on tv, even cast them with known actors, and recount it to my mates. They believed everything. I guess I loved attention since an early age.

Expand full comment

You know, It always irritated me that some people take in what ever an older person says. And I go like, '' Damn, this believes that only because we"re indoctrinated early that we have to listen to elders? he's old, experienced, seen shit, so he must KNOW something???" Then, I remember what George Carlin used to sing about all day: '' It's all bullshit folks, and it's bad for you''.

Expand full comment

One of my brothers has four children and five grandchildren. I'd like to tell "elaborate" stories such as: dinosaurs are still alive. (That one never went very far.) My brother put an end to more devious stories, stating: "No perpetuating a falsehood."

Expand full comment

And for those extra special little bundles of know-all, don’t just tell the lies, GIVE The lies…

https://odditymall.com/nirvana-hanson-t-shirt

Sharing is caring x

Expand full comment

I'm from Latin America, though, and kids here are raised to think everyone is full of shit all the time (which might be a healthier upbringing, tbh), so I've had to really insist on basic affirmations like, "no really, Sydney isn't the capital of Australia" and such...

Expand full comment

Hungry Like The Wolf was their manifesto/plot on carrying out the hit…

“I’m on the hunt I’m after you”

Expand full comment

Flat-out hilarious. Lying to young people. When my daughter was young I'd start telling her a story that was true then at one point it becomes untrue and gets wilder. She had to tell me at what point the story became fiction.

Expand full comment

Can I post my short story in the comments? I haven’t received any emails lately of you critiquing submittals.

Expand full comment

Love it!

Back in the 90s when I had my eyebrow pierced, I worked as a summer camp counselor at the YMCA. Whenever the kids would ask about my piercing, I would tell them a cautionary tale about how I went to get my ear pierced but they missed!

Expand full comment
founding

The worst thing I did to my sister when we were kids (I’m older) was roll this shoe gunk from my generic berkenstock sandal into a ball and tell her that it was an M&M and she totally put it in her mouth. Don’t worry. Years later we were at breakfast and I was so thirsty I went around drinking all the waters, including my sister’s. At the end of the meal I watched in horror as she reached to the bottom of her cup and pulled out her retainer and popped it back in. Yes. I drank retainer water. 🤢 payback is a puke.

Expand full comment

yeah remember when people said it was important to go to church.

I remember my mom was especially stupid / full of shit.

"if you keep picking your nose your nostrils will widen"

"eyelashes don't grow back"

"im a good mother"

etc.

Expand full comment

When Taylor Swift was “blowing up”, I almost convinced my Daughter she was computer generated. And now more and more I believe it’s true-Computer generated Superstars.

Expand full comment
Jul 5, 2022·edited Jul 5, 2022

My day job is as a literacy consultant. I teach a lot of kids. Lying to them is what I live for. When I worked in a public school, I convinced an entire Kindergarten class that I locked naughty students in the boiler room we walked past every day. I loved catching some of them tap on the door to ask if anyone was inside and needed help.

Expand full comment

Reminds me of the Calvin & Hobbes comic where the dad was always telling Calvin tall tales. I loved doing this to my kid (back when she was a kid), but she was the least gullible kid I've ever met. My luck. She wasn't quite four years old when a storm knocked out the electricity in our neighborhood while we were watching something on TV. I told my daughter, "I guess we'll have to watch TV by candlelight." She said, "Unh-uh, Daddy. The TV don't work without legtricity."

Expand full comment

That wasn't Duran Duran. It was Roberto Duran.

Expand full comment

Don't tell me this isn't true! I loved the BBC documentary on the spaghetti harvest. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MEqp0x6ajGE

Expand full comment

A: I took an electric heater with me.

P: What? How do you plug it?

A: I got solar panels.

T: What's he saying?

P: He got electric heater with him.

T: What? You got electric heater when we go camping?

A: Yeah, you said to bring warm clothes, but I thought that's a bit selfish so I got us electric heater in my backpack to keep us all warm.

Our camping group stared at me as I delivered it with a straight face.

T: You're just kidding, you can't fit a heater in backpack.

P: He's not kidding, he's crazy like that.

A: It's Japanese folding heater, it's small like a book but unfolds to the size of chair. (I should've said it's origami heater.)

...

We got so drunk, nobody remembered my lie anyway, but I tried.

I've few more coming.

Thanks for the assignment, I'll have fun with it.

...

*Note, we camped at a festival, not in the wilderness.

Expand full comment